Tell Me How Much You Hated History Class…or Didn’t.

I never understood the polarizing quality of history. It’s not like you had to have the exact answers like math or science, or English, if you had a Jane Austen-obsessed teacher, who couldn’t possible understand my disinterest. (I will go to my grave arguing the pointless quality of reading Pride and Prejudice AND Sense and Sensibility back-to-back as a 15-year old.)

But history. It was about revolutions and events that created ideas. It was about great people writing heroic stories. Except when it was about June 27, 1880 or Milan, Ohio. Turns out there were right and wrong answers, which is apparently why some people just really don’t like history.

I’m doing a little research on these early notions of history. A short 8 question survey to determine whether a theory I hold about early history education is worth pursuing or simply a misguided resentment at the educational system.

I know we all love to share our opinion. Why else would be blog..or troll blogs to disagree with other people’s opinions…

Help me out by taking my survey here. And look for a future post about the results.

2 thoughts on “Tell Me How Much You Hated History Class…or Didn’t.

  1. I don’t really remember history in elementary school. I do remember though that when I hit middle school, history felt more like memorization of dates, people and events and for me personally that lead to negative feels towards it. Plus those text books are so big and daunting.

    • I think that’s where our history curriculum needs to change. We pursue critical thinking skills in most other areas of education, but history becomes a stagnant task in rote memorization. I think that many school boards and those involved with curriculum and textbook writing fail to see the fluidity in history.

Speak up...

